The Patriot Pro-am is an event on the schedule of the Northern Michigan Chapter of the PGA of America. Proceeds from entry fees benefit the Camp Grayling Family Readiness Group. Professionals from all over northern Michigan compete and bring along 3 amateur players. This year 24 teams took part which was a 75% increase over last year after moving the date from May to August.

The event uses a unique Stableford scoring system giving positive points for birdies and eagles and negative points for bogeys, double bogeys and the dreaded other.  Thus, the highest point total determines our winners.

Professional Results
Place Golf Professional Score
1 Lee Houtteman 8
2 Gary Lewandowski 6
3 Thom Slusher 2
4 Shaun Bezilla -1
5 Chad Boyce -4
6 Jason Guss -5
T7 Casey Powers -6
T7 Mark Hogan -6
T7 Mark Hill -6
10 Doug Grove -8
11 Kevin McKinley -9
12 Shane Hollandsworth -10
13 Keith Grunch -11
T14 Mike Fay -12
T14 Kyle Roman -12
T16 Jt Aude -13
T16 Cris Cavitt -13
T18 Jerry Roman -15
T18 Joe Charles -15
T18 Doug Bell -15
21 Paulo Rocha -18
22 Brian Davis -19
23 Tim Covell -20
24 Matt Shalhoup -21

Individual skin winners were Kevin McKinley with eagle on 1, Casey Powers with birdie on 3, Lee Houtteman with birdie on 11 and Shane Hollandsworth with birdie on 14.

Below are the team results…tight race at the top.

Place Golf Professional Score Am 1 Am 2 Am 3
1 Casey Powers 33 Justin Barnes Malcolm Fordyce James Fordyce
2 Kyle Roman 31 Darren O'Boyle Mark Grace Tom Loshaw
3 Lee Houtteman 29 Curt Fjelstul Kyle Schaub Nichol Cox
4 Shaun Bezilla 28 Ed Bezilla Greg Nuoing Mike Posenow
T5 Kevin McKinley 26 John McKinley John Bissell Kent Heiden
T5 Keith Grunch 26 Doug Milligan Jason Walsh Jordan Nystrom
7 Mike Fay 23 Ron Michals Steve Nagel Jim Conley
T8 Chad Boyce 22 Josh Reinert Ken Tesauro Bob Looby
T8 Mark Hill 22 Mike Seward Don Mappin Randy Richter
10 Tim Covell 21 Tyler Covell Tom Winquist Ron Nielson
T11 Joe Charles 19 Adam Korson Kyle Yohe Chad Volant
T11 Thom Slusher 19 Trevor Frankeke JJ Klaus Dan Timmins
T11 Brian Davis 19 Dave Phillips John Girardt Bryan McClain
T11 Paulo Rocha 19 Al Wisne Jay Slavsky Steve Zuccarini
15 JT Aude 18 Chip Nicholas Tom Gouin JD Dreyer
T16 Mark Hogan 17 Aaron Beach Terry Nagelkirk Shawn Houtz
T16 Doug Grove 17 Ron Benson James VanDosen John Raymond
T16 Jason Guss 17 Alyssa Gaudio Trent Schroeder Yog Willnow
19 Gary Lewandowski 16 Jon Leslie Ron Snead Craig Misselhorn
20 Matt Shalhoup 15 Gary Bedlion Aaron Riley Joe Thompson
21 Jerry Roman 13 Rich Lindberg Peg Lindberg Bill MacCready
T22 Cris Cavitt 8 Ray Wieckert Matt McColl George Torreano
T22 Shane Hollandsworth 8 Matt Krill Nick Chapin Todd Jarrold
24 Doug Bell 1 Julie Brakora Melanie Rutheford Rick Dewling

Team Skin Winners were

  • Hole 5 – Covell with +10
  • Hole 8 – Davis with +5
  • Hole 9 – Davis with +5
  • Hole 10 – Charles with +7
  • Hole 13 – Boyce with +7
  • Hole 14 – Hollandsworth with +1
  • Hole 16 – Aude with +7
  • Hole 18 – K. Roman with +7

More importantly than the results was the cause.

If anyone would like to send a note of thanks to any of those associated with our opening ceremony, here are the contacts

Our Food and Beverage team who set up the beer tasting with Leinenkuegels and the Brisket Slider with Sysco.

Our ownership representative for allowing us to utilize the beautiful Jones Masterpiece on an otherwise very busy day

Last and certainly not least, our sponsors who make these events possible and provide a large portion of the purse for us and our amateurs.